Katie Couric, What Have You Done?

Katie, I did it for you.

Sure, I did it for my wife, and for my family, and for my own good health. But it was Katie Couric’s impassioned plea, after losing her husband to colon cancer when he was just 42 years old, that sealed the deal.

And every time I had bleak thoughts about undergoing what I expected to be a rather unpleasant procedure, I remembered that you begged, pleased with everyone to get a colonoscopy.

You even had one yourself on national tv. Wow.

I sure wish I’d paid better attention. You had a virtual colonoscopy.

You didn’t tell us about Versed, and how we should have an anesthesiologist if we needed the regular procedure. Maybe you didn’t know.

Katie Couric became a colonoscopy crusader after the death of her husband, Jay Monahan, from colon cancer at age 42. Her on-air virtual colonoscopy was the cornerstone of a weeklong series on the “Today Show” that promoted colon cancer awareness and endorsed colorectal cancer screening.

Couric has since founded the National Colorectal Cancer Research Alliance, part of the Entertainment Industry Foundation, and the Jay Monahan Center for Gastrointestinal Health.

2 thoughts on “Katie Couric, What Have You Done?

  1. I had a colonoscopy three weeks ago and have not been the same, my stools have not formed since and I have painful gas all day. The fleet phosphate soda threw my whole system out of whack and I’m still praying to get better. I will never have a colonoscopy again!

  2. Marlene, colonoscopies are life-savers. You should see your doctor right away about the problems you’re having. Read the other posts here; you may find a better way. (Though all require laxatives, you may have a problem with a particular type. SEE YOUR DOCTOR!!!)

Comments are closed.